Our San Antonio Concealed Handgun License (CHL) class is completed in 4-6 hours to include all the requirements (excluding fingerprints and state payment) for your Texas Concealed Carry permit. The indoor range fee at Bass Pro Shops is included with the class fee. We also offer gun rentals to include ammo. Classes are taught at The Bass Pro Shops in The Rim Shopping Center in San Antonio on Saturdays and Sundays. Weekdays are available for group classes of 10 students or more. Sign up for your class today and we will guide you through the process.
Bass Pro Shops Location
7am-1:30pm Depending on range time.
Arrive at 6:30am for check in.
The front door will be open from 6:30am to 7am.
Make sure your firearm is unloaded and there are no rounds in the clips. There are no reloads, steel or aluminum casing permitted. Brass casing only.
JST Outfitters Location
9:00am-2:30pm Depending on range time.
Arrive at 8:45am for check in.
Make sure your firearm is unloaded and there are no rounds in the clips.
2015 Class Dates
March 7th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
March 10th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
March 21st Saturday – JST Outfitters
March 29th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
March 31st Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
April 7th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
April 11th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
April 18th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
April 21st Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
April 26th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
May 5th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
May 9th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
May 23rd Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
May 24th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
May 26th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
May 31st Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
June 6th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
June 9th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
June 14th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
June 20th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
July 11th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
July 12th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
July 14th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
July 25th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
July 28th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Aug 1st Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Aug 2nd Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Aug 8th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Aug 11th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Aug 30th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Sept 6th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Sept 12th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Sept 22nd Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Sept 26th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Oct 3rd Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Oct 6th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Oct 11th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Oct 20th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Oct 24th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Oct 25th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Nov 1st Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Nov 6th Sunday – Bass Pro Shop
Nov 10th Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Nov 14th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Dec 1st Tuesday – Bass Pro Shop
Dec 12th Saturday – Bass Pro Shop
Frequently asked questions about Concealed Gun Carrying.
What states can I carry
There are many states that have reciprocity with Texas for CHL purposes. This means that the Texas recognizes that states CHL and they recognize the Texas CHL. The above picture is a snapshot of those states, for the complete list go to the TXDPS web site or www.Packing.org. One thing to note is that while traveling through these states one must remember that you must comply with their CHL laws. Though many of the laws are similar from state to state it is upon you, the CHL holder, to be in compliance with each state’s laws.
Do I need to own a gun to take your class?
If you haven’t purchased a handgun yet, or you want to qualify on a Semi-Automatic instead of a revolver you can rent one of my handguns for $40 which includes ammunition .
Why should I get a CHL, isn’t it legal for me to have a handgun in my car?
While it is legal to have a handgun in your car while “Traveling” you can only have the handgun in your car, outside of the car you can’t carry. A gun not on your immediate person does you no good, so if you know that you will only be attacked inside you car you are fine! Otherwise get a CHL and have the ability to carry the gun on your person.
What if I am Active Duty Military or just moved to Texas, do I still qualify for a TX CHL?
Whether your are Active Duty stationed in TX or just moved here 2 weeks ago you are still eligible. A Texas Driver’s License or ID is no longer necessary. IT IS NO LONGER A REQUIREMENT TO BE A TEXAS RESIDENT!
Can I carry a different gun than the one I qualify with and do I need to register my handgun(s)?
The only restriction on the gun you qualify with vs the one you carry is if your license is for a Revolver only. If you qualify with a Semi-Auto than you can carry either a Revolver or Semi-Auto with no problems. The handgun that you use for qualification purposes must be at least a .32 caliber or larger, but this is only for the qualification. You are not restricted to caliber size when you carry your handgun, so if you prefer a little .22 caliber pistol or a Desert Eagle .50 caliber hand cannon it is up to you. None of your guns need to be registered and you are not restricted to the number of handguns you can carry at any one time.
Is there a test at the end of the class?
Yes there is a written test as well as a handgun qualification test. The intent of the Texas Legislature was not to make the CHL test extremely difficult to pass. Instead they wanted to ensure that the students have a good understanding of the law and that they are familiar with a handgun and how to shoot. You do not need to be an expert marksman in order to pass the range portion of the class, but a good understanding of your pistol and some practice on a range ahead of time sure does help. Both test are not complicated and everything that is on the written test is covered during the classroom portion of the class. The written test is 50 questions in both multiple choice and true false. The range test is done on a static human silhouette target with 50 rds of ammunition: 20 rounds from the 3 yard line, 20 rounds from the 7 yard line and 10 rounds from the 15 yard line.
Ok so I take your class, than what?
After completing the class, you send the completed application with a cashiers check for the appropriate amount (check the fees button on the left) via certified mail, return receipt requested, to DPS. Once DPS receives the application it generally will take 30 to 60 days for you to receive your license or notification that more time is needed to process your license. Generally unless you have a prior conviction that restricts you from a license or there was problem in your application (forgot to sign something) you will receive you license within 60 days.
h34. I was convicted of a DWI 6 years ago, am I still eligible to get a license?
Yes you still qualify, but if have had a Class A, B, or C misdemeanor conviction within the last 5 years of application date you are ineligible. Also if you have had a felony conviction or 2 misdemeanor convictions for the same reason, a DWI for instance, within the last 10 year period you are ineligible.
My friend and I are going to attend the class together, can he/she use my gun?
Of course, but obviously you would be in two different courses of fire. This is often the case when a husband and wife take the course.